Career Focus - The World of Writing

Children's Fiction Publishers

 

The following publishers specialise in Children's Fiction (please note this is not an exhaustive list, we have selected publishers who have websites - 'The Writers & Artists Yearbook' by A&C Black has the full list):



Andersen Press Ltd - www.andersenpress.co.uk
Children's books: picture books, junior and teenage fiction (send synopsis and first 3 chapters with sae); no short stories or poetry.

Barefoot Books - www.barefootbooks.co.uk
Children's picture books and audiobooks: myth, legend, fairytale, cross-cultural stories. Send picture book manuscript only with return p&p.

A & C Black Publishers Ltd - www.acblack.com
Children's and educational books (including music) for 3-15 year olds (preliminary enquiry appreciated - fiction guidelines available on request).

Child's Play (International) Ltd- www.childs-play.com
Children's educational books: board, picture, activity and play books; fiction and non-fiction.

Egmont Books- www.egmont.co.uk
Children's books: picture books, fiction (ages 4-16), illustrated non-fiction, licensed character list. Publishes under Egmont and Dean.

Evans Brothers Ltd - www.evansbooks.co.uk
Educational books, particularly preschool, school library and teachers' books for the UK, primary and secondary for Africa, the Caribbean. Part of the Evans Publishing Group.

Faber and Faber Ltd - www.faber.co.uk
High quality general fiction and non-fiction, children's fiction, drama, film, music and poetry.

Floris Books - www.florisbooks.co.uk
Children's books: picture and board plus activity books.

HarperCollins Children's Books - www.harpercollinschildrensbooks.co.uk
Quality picture books and book and tape sets for unders 7's. Fiction for age 6 up to young adult. Imprints: Lions, Collins Picture Books, Collins Jet, Collins Teacher.

Kingfisher Publications plc - www.kingfisher.com
Children's Books. Non-fiction: activity books, encyclopedias, general history, religion, language, mathematics, nature, science and technology. Also fiction, poetry, humour, picture books, board books. No unsolicited manuscripts or synopses considered.

Penguin Group (UK) Under the Pengiun Group umbrella are several imprints who specialise in Children's Books: Ladybird - www.ladybird.co.uk
Puffin - children's paperback and hardback books: wide range of picture books, board books and novelties; fiction; non-fiction and popular culture. No unsolicited manuscripts or synopses.
Warne - www.funwithspot.com www.flowerfairies.com www.peterrabbit.com Specialises in preschool illustrated developmental books for 0-6, non-fiction 0-8; licensed brands; children's classic publishing and merchandising properties. No unsolicited manuscripts.

Lion Hudson plc - www.lionhudson.com
Reference, paperbacks, illustrated children's books, educational, gift books, religion and theology; all reflecting a Christian position. Send preliminary letter before submitting manuscript.

Macmillan Children's Books Ltd - www.panmacmillan.com
Publishes under Macmillan Children's Books, Campbell Books, Young Picador. Picture books, fiction, poetry, non-fiction, early learning, pop-up, novelty, board books. No unsolicited manuscripts.

Mantra Lingua - www.mantralingua.com
Children's multicultural picture books; multilingual friezes/posters; dual language books/cassettes; South Asian literature/teenage fiction; CD-Roms and Videos.

Picadilly Press - www.picadillypress.com
Early picture books, parental advice, teenage non-fiction, humorous teenage fiction.

Ragged Bears Publishing Ltd - www.raggedbears.co.uk
Preschool and primary age picture and novelty books. Takes very few unsolicited ideas as the list is small. Send sae for return of manuscript, do not send original artwork.

Random House Children's Books - www.randomhouse.co.uk
Publishes picture books, fiction, poetry, non-fiction and audio cassettes under: Bodley Head Children's Books, Corgi Children's Books, Doubleday Children's Books, Hutchinson Children's Books, Jonathon Cape Children's Books, Red Fox Children's Books and David Fickling Books.

Simon & Schuster - www.simonsays.co.uk
Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing - fiction and non-fiction.

Tamarind Ltd - www.tamarindbooks.co.uk
Multicultural children's picture books and posters. All books give a high positive profile to black children. Unsolicited material welcome with return postage.

Usborne Publishing Ltd- www.usborne.com
Children's Books: reference, practical, computers, craft, natural history, science, languages, history, geography, preschool, fiction.

Walker Books Ltd- www.walkerbooks.co.uk
Children's: picture books, non-fiction and novelty titles; junior and teenage fiction.

Scholastic Children's Books - www.scholastic.co.uk
Activity books, novelty books, picture books, fiction for 5-12 year olds, teenage fiction, series fiction, film/TV tie-ins. Imprints include Hippo, Comma, Scholastic Fiction, Scholastic non-fiction, Scholastic Press. Will consider unsolicited submissions: send synopses and sample chapter only.

Role of the Week

CeCe & Me

Location: UK Wide

Shoe shopping for toddlers can be a truly hideous experience, made even worse if you leave the shop not feeling sure the shoes are the best choice for their little feet! I had some terrible experiences...
Find out More

70 visitors online